Sunday, December 30, 2012

Rear Dumper Into Hopper

That's not something you see every day - a Cat truck painted white!

Sunday, December 16, 2012

Flattened Ute

I don't have any information about this incident, other than this photo. It looks like it's been driven over somehow by a dump truck.

Sunday, December 9, 2012

Truck on Side

Looks like the operator forgot he was driving a rear-dump truck, not a side-tipper truck.

Sunday, December 2, 2012

Overloaded Low-Loader

I'm not sure if this crusher is too heavy for the low-loader, or if it's just too much of a point load for it.

Sunday, November 25, 2012

Bogged Dozer

We seem to be having a lot of bogged vehicles recently. Must be the season for it.

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Bogged Excavator

Sent in this week by a reader. According to the email, the excavator operator decided to take a shortcut by going over the rill.

Sunday, November 4, 2012

A Boggy Mess

A series of photos today, sent in by a reader. These look like they're all from the same mine, which appears to have serious water-management issues.

Sunday, October 28, 2012

Sunday, October 21, 2012

Rolled Rear-Dumper

These guys seem unusually proud of their work.

Sunday, October 14, 2012

Sunday, October 7, 2012

Bucket Damage

That's some really impressive bucket damage. From an RH340 at Poitrell Coal Mine.

Sunday, September 30, 2012

Rear-Dumper Into Wall

I'm impressed at the amount of damage here. The truck must have been doing some speed. Sent it by a reader.

Sunday, September 23, 2012

Delicately Balanced Excavator

Sent in by a reader this week.

Sunday, September 16, 2012

Wheel Motor Failure

These great photos were sent in a couple of weeks ago by a reader. The come from a copper mine in Zambia.

Sunday, September 9, 2012

Marion 8900 Dragline Recovery

Received these photos a few weeks ago from a reader. They show the recovery of a Marion 8900 dragline from a bench failure.

Compare this dragline recovery to Norwich Park's.

Saturday, September 8, 2012

Mining Memes

I don't normally link to other sites, but this one is funny. There's a new Mining Meme's page on Facebook, which puts the standard internet memes into a mining situation, and adds some new mining ones to the mix.

Sunday, September 2, 2012

Saraji Blast Damage

This incident happened last Monday, at the Saraji Mine. I didn't get any other details, so if you know, please comment below.

Edit 7/9/12: Additional photo sent in.

Sunday, August 26, 2012

Two Bogged Excavators

Sent in by a reader the week before last. According to the email, these two excavators got bogged on the same section of road about 500m apart. The wooden logs they put down in front of the tracks just went straight underneath the mud.

Sunday, August 19, 2012

Broken Rear Axle

Interesting photo sent in this week by a reader. We've had a few axles failures on the site before, but never one this complete.

Sunday, August 12, 2012

Lightning Strike on 777

Another great set of photos sent in by a reader of a lightning strike on a 777. From the incident report:

"On July 15, 2012 at approximately 2300 hours driver of 777F haul truck was parked at the 1135 waste dump waiting out an electrical storm.  Truck was struck by lightning causing significant damage to the rear of the truck.  One left side outside duel was propelled away from the truck approximate 250 meters.  The rim of this tire was another 50 meters further.  All 4 rear tires were blown out and cab windows shattered.  Driver exited the truck as quickly as he could and ran away to a safe distance from the truck."

"Driver exited the truck as quickly as he could." Gee, ya think?

Sunday, August 5, 2012

EX1800 Into Overpass

Another one sent in by a reader. At the Oak Hill mine in Texas, USA. April, 2010.

Sunday, July 29, 2012

Fire on Cross-Pit Spreader

Lots of great photos came in this week, it was tough to pick the first one to put up. These pictures are of a fire on a cross-pit spreader, and occurred at the Big Brown Mine, in Fairfield Texas, on November 2008.

Sunday, July 22, 2012

Bogged 1850

Sent in this week by a reader. According to the email, they thought it could be pulled out by a D10!

Sunday, July 15, 2012

793 vs Drill Rig

Received these photos a couple of weeks ago, but with no description or location. Judging by the marks behind the truck, it looked like it might have just come around a corner.